Aerobowls Premier League Queensland

Share |

Geckos play the Vikings on Friday night - 6th versus 7th in do or die match for both sides             refresh your browser each time you visit PLQ   +++    














Round 9 (28/2/2015) Report – South Tweed Sharks v. Bribie Island Breakers

Premier Grade

South Tweed Sharks 60       Bribie Island Breakers 39      2 rinks to 1

·        Kelvin Kerkow        21       Jack Horne              10

·        Geoff Hawken        25      Anthony Griffiths     9

·        Dean McWhinney 14      Leigh Fitzhenry     20

The Sharks have their season back on track with a hard fought win against Bribie Island Breakers last Saturday at South Tweed. With two players unavailable, their replacements John Bain and Punter (Lindsay Ponting) both played outstanding games and the selectors thank them for making themselves available. Kelvin had a good win against Jack Horne with Richo almost back to his best and John Bain proving once again he is the best fill-in in all of Premier League. Braiden Leese and especially Kelvin just added to the good work up front. In the absence of Steve Glasson, Geoff Hawken (Hawkeye) once again proved why he is one of the best of all time with an outstanding exhibition of skipping. He was, of course, well backed up by his rink of Hec, Punter and Nigie. The rink of Deano, Chopper, Fabulous and Dan Smith ran into a very hot Leigh Fitzhenry and his rink who were the only winners for Bribie. The two rinks to one win helps the Sharks maintain their position on the ladder and are hoping to climb into the top five before the end of the season. 

A Grade

South Tweed Sharks 86        Bribie Island Breakers 70     3 rinks to 1

·        Wayne Wilson 29        Wally Simmonds  10

·        Ray Hickman    14       Ron Smith             20

·        Matt Norris      23       Mick Cherry          22

·        Brendan Hoey 20        Clarke Barclay      18

The Sharks scored a comfortable win over the Breakers. Wayne Wilson and his team showed their skill and depth with a fine 19 shot win over Wally Simmonds for the Breakers. Brendan Hoey and his Sharks team held on for a solid 2 shot win over Clarke Barclay. Matt Norris had an exciting 1 shot win over Mick Cherry. In fact, Norris won his match with his last bowl turning a 1 shot deficit into a 3 shot gain. Ray Hickman and his team failed to hang onto the last 3 ends and went down by 6 shots. Overall this was a great start for the Sharks to the double header weekend.

Premier 7’s

Round 8 (28/2/2015)

Division 60+    BYE

Division 3        South Tweed Sharks v. Springwood Titans

Singles: Sharks 18 lost to Titans 31                2 rinks to 1

Pairs:    Sharks 13 lost to Titans 24

Fours:   Sharks 17 def. Titans 16

The Sharks, playing away at Springwood, lost the singles and pairs to the stronger Titans teams who played well on their home surface. In the fours game Ivan Ensbey, for the Sharks as second, played consistently for his skipper Dasha Maxwell in a close 1 shot win over the Titans. Next week’s away game, overseas at Russell Island, is looming as a must win match for the Sharks Division 3 side if they wish to progress through to the finals.

Written by Steve Lowe


     2015 Results
     2015 Draw
    Weekly Program
     Honour Board
     Conditions of Play
     2015 Photo Gallery
     2015 Sharks Reports

    2015 Draws
     2015 Results
     2015 Photo Gallery
 Special Notice
     Conditions of Play